Islands - Modern Maps

Up Catalog

Aaland Islands

     The Finnish province of the Åland Islands or Ahvenanmaa is comprised of approximately 6,500 islands off the coast of Finland in the Baltic Sea at the mouth of the Gulf of Bothnia. Only about 80 of the islands are inhabited. In 1921 the League of Nations granted Finland sovereignty over the islands, and in 1922 Finland granted the islands, which are Swedish speaking, special rights, including their own flag.    

SCN 17

     The stamp, which focuses on the main island of Åland, commemorates the 50th Anniversary of the First Provincial Meeting of Åland.

SCN 516