Scandinavian Flags

Up Catalog

     The flags of the Scandinavian countries, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, and the Faroe Islands, are all based on the Crusader's Cross. In each case the upright part of the cross is closer to the hoist than to the free end of the flag. Each of the flags uses a combination of the colors white, red, blue, and gold. All of the flags have their origin in the Dannebrog, the "Danish cloth" which goes back to the 13th century.
     This souvenir sheet from the Faroe Islands shows the flags of the Scandinavian countries. In order from left to right they are: Iceland, Finland, Norway, Sweden, the Faroe Islands, Åland, and Denmark.

SCN 101

The Dannebrog ~ 1219

     One of the oldest flags in continuous use in the world is the Dannebrog of Denmark. Literally translated the name means "Danish cloth." In 1219 King Valdemar II had a vision in which he saw a white cross in the blood-red sky as he went into the Battle of Lyndanisse against the Livonians. The Danish stamp celebrates the 750th anniversary of the Danish flag. The cross was originally square, but the flag has been extended horizontally, and the upright arm of the cross has been moved closer to the hoist.

SCN 460

     The United States stamp shows the Danish flag as a part of the "Overrun Countries" issue of 1943.

SCN  920