Incorrect Coordinates

Up Catalog


British New Hebrides 208

     The New Hebrides are a group of islands north of New Caledonia in the South Pacific. They are a "condominium" jointly administered by Great Britain and France.
     In 1976, to commemorate the opening of the First Representative Assembly, a map stamp was issued showing the group of islands on a 2 coordinate grid. The eastern longitude is given as 116E which is incorrect; the western longitude is given as 170E.

SCN 208

     Both governmental units issue stamps with the same designs denominated in the French currency, and in 1978 each issued two stamps with the same design surcharged with bars over the incorrect longitude, the old value and commemoration, and the correct longitude, 166E, new values and a new commemoration, the First Anniversary of Internal Self-Government.

SCN 263

Back Next