Detective Fiction ~ Authors

Up Catalog

Edgar Allen Poe (1809-1849)

     Edgar Allen Poe originated the novel of detection. Perhaps his best-known tale in this genre is The Gold Bug (1843), about a search for buried treasure. The Murders in the Rue Morgue (1841), The Mystery of Marie Rogt (1842-1843), and The Purloined Letter (1844) are regarded as predecessors of the modern mystery, or detective, story. Poe is honored by stamps from the United states and Hungary.

SCN 986

     Other authors of mystery or detective fiction who appear on stamps include Arthur Conan Doyle, G. K. Chesterton,  Ngaio Marsh, and George Simenon, and Agatha Christie,

Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930)

SCN 1502

SCN 1172

G.K. Chesterton (1874-1936)

SCN 1629